Advisory Council

The Center for Disaster Philanthropy Advisory Council provides expert guidance and advice to staff and board members in the areas of disaster management and philanthropic engagement to ensure that we best represent the needs of disaster-affected populations and the donor community.

Meet our Advisory Council members:

Chair: Biz Ghormley, Operations & Convening Director, CHANGE Philanthropy

Dr. Supriya Akerkar, Director, Centre for Development and Emergency Practice

Isabel Barrios, Program Officer, Greater New Orleans Foundation

Erin Borla, Executive Director/Trustee, Roundhouse Foundation

Alexander J. Diaz, Crisis Response & Humanitarian Aid,

Brian Fogle, President, Community Foundation of the Ozarks

Brandon Iracks-Edelin, Senior Programs Associate, United Philanthropy Forum

Nasra Ismail, Global Development Expert and Advisor (Aspen ICAP Fellow)

Brian Kastner, Director, Engagement, Council on Foundations

Dr. Daniel Maxwell, Henry J. Leir Professor in Food Security and Research Director at the Feinstein International Center, Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy, Tufts University

Amelia Mendizabal, Director of Programs, National VOAD (Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster)

Tere Figueras Negrete, Senior Director of Communications, The Funders Network

Dr. Lori Peek, Professor in the Department of Sociology and Director of the Natural Hazards Center at the University of Colorado Boulder

Grace Sato, Director of Research, Candid

Jeff Schlegelmilch, Director, National Center for Disaster Preparedness, The Earth Institute | Columbia University

Julien Schopp, Vice President of Humanitarian Policy and Practice, InterAction


Every new and increased gift in September will be matched dollar for dollar, thanks to a generous donor. Your gift today will help disaster-affected communities worldwide.

Double your impact now